Sunday, 19 March 2017

Back Soon



Random Redheaded Ramblings is on holiday, back in two weeks!!


Share:

Friday, 10 March 2017

REVIEW - The Method by Shannon Kirk


Title: The Method

Author: Shannon Kirk

Publisher:  Sphere

Release Date: 2nd March 2017

Source: Publisher Advance Cpy

You're sixteen, you're pregnant and you've been kidnapped.

If you're anyone else you give in, but if you're a manipulative prodigy you fight back in the only way you can. You use what you've been given against your captors.

You have only one chance to save your life and that of your unborn child. You're calculating, methodical, and as your kidnappers are about to discover, they made a big mistake in abducting you.

What happens when the victim is just as dangerous as the captors?

A dark, gripping and unique thriller that introduces a kickass new heroine - perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Karin Slaughter


What do you picture when you think of a sixteen year old girl?, I picture a younger version of April Ludgate from Parks & Rec, stroppy, sarcastic and far too cool for school.  

The female protagonist in this story is sixteen and she makes April Ludgate look like a pussy cat, she is sixteen and pregnant but she not an immature little girl, not by a long stretch.

She is an exceptional student, born to a well off, well educated family, she excels in everything she does, you could say she is a prodigy.  She has also just been kidnapped.

The Method follows her journey as she tries to escape her captors by using her unique skill set and my God this makes for a hell of a story.

It is impossible to tell you too much without spoiling it for you but this is a gripping read, told from the POV of our kidnap victim and an FBI agent on the case of a missing young pregnant girl, it sets the scene very well creating an outline of the kidnappers den and the conditions under which our victim is held in as well as visiting her life before she fell pregnant.

Does it have a happy ending? I couldn't possibly tell you but I enjoyed it, totally not what I was expecting!

Thank you Little Brown for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review.







Shannon Kirk is a practicing attorney and law professor. She attended West Virginia Wesleyan and St John's Universities, is a graduate of Suffolk Law School, and was a trial lawyer in Chicago prior to moving to Massachusetts. She has been honoured three times by the Faulkner Society in the William Faulkner-William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition. She lives in Massachusetts with her husband, a physicist, and their son.

The Method won the 2015 National Indie Excellence Award for best suspense, has been optioned for a major motion film by Next Wednesday productions and will be translated into several languages.




Don't miss a post!! Enter your email address for my posts straight to your inbox!:

Share:

Friday, 3 March 2017

Hey! I bought this! #2 - Shopping on iTunes


This week I bought some music as I finally have some space on my phone to bung some new tunes in to, of course you want to know what I bought.

Well I bought this!







I have quite a confused taste in music but I love all these songs!!



Don't miss a post!! Enter your email address for my posts straight to your inbox!:

Share:

Tuesday, 28 February 2017

Bizarre Books #43 - Haynes Pensioner Manual


Whilst looking through the hundreds of thousands of books on Amazon I discovered hidden gems, books that maybe have been overshadowed and have not had the credit they deserve.

They may be a bizarre, they may be funny or even unintentionally funny, they may be wonderfully cute or they may just be a total WTF!!! book.

This weekly post is a tribute to these wonderful gems and to be honest some of them are worth looking at for their reviews alone!


Do my American readers have Haynes manuals, the old school ones for every car going? 

Hopefully you do, they have some fantastic new manuals that help with other sorts of motors like the kind that kicks your arse out of bed everyday!

Now I'm only 38 but retirement can't come soon enough and the prosect of being a pensioner appeals to me, all the hours I can devote to reading, strolls along the road, baking plus endless cups of tea and watching the Antiques Roadshow.

I can't wait, however retirement age in Britain will probably be about 88 when my turn for the pension comes so I may have a long wait.  This book with its handy tips such as pimping your ride, dealing with shock absorbers and general wear and tear will keep me clued up until that happy day comes when I collect my pension.

What do you plan to do when you retire?



Don't miss a post!! Enter your email address for my posts straight to your inbox!:


Delivered by FeedBurner
Share:

Monday, 27 February 2017

I've been watching #2 - Bob's Burgers




Every day, yes every day you can pretty much guarantee an episode of Bob's Burgers is on in my house, you see it was my thing to watch but no my kids decided they wanted to watch it too and they totally adore it.  Since they are kids they can quite happily watch it over and over and over and over again.

I don't mind a bit, you see I love the Belchers, their Funko Pops grace my bookshelf and as from tomorrow (my youngest daughters birthday) a giant poster will grace a bedroom wall.  They are a family and family life is something I can relate too.

Yes, I know they aren't a typical family, they are all a little bonkers but hey who likes normal these day anyway.  Dealing with crushes boys/girls, bonkers landlords, crazy neighbours, naming burgers and puberty, all in a normal days work for any family!

The voices totally make it, my favourites though have to be Megan Mullaly as Linda Belcher's cat loving sister and the wonderful Kristen Schaal as bunny-ears wearing badass, smartmouth Louise.

The songs too, they do occasionally burst in to song and I believe they have an album coming out soon, such delights as the catchy Diarrhoea are going to be on it, trust me it's catchy (huh, an unintentional pun).

Anyway Bobs Burgers is excellent fun to watch, its funny and doesn't take itself to seriously.  I should know I have watched each episode about ten times so far!!


Don't miss a post!! Enter your email address for my posts straight to your inbox!:



Delivered by FeedBurner
Share:

Saturday, 25 February 2017

I'm Excited For....#2 - NASA's amazing discovery


So this week I'm excited for.....

New Planets!!


(c) Google

I love anything spacey and yes I know they are something like 200 odd trillion miles away but this is amazing, I do love a space discovery and well done Google for the adorable doodle!!




Don't miss a post!! Enter your email address for my posts straight to your inbox!:

Share:

Wednesday, 22 February 2017

REVIEW - Eclipse Volume 1 by Zack Kaplan


Title: Eclipse Volume 1

Author: Kaplan, Timpano and Northrop

Publisher:  Image Comics / Top Cow

Release Date: 15th February 2017

Source: Bought own copy Amazon
Imagine if sunlight burned you alive. In the near future, a mysterious solar event has transformed the sun’s light into deadly immolating rays. The world’s few survivors now live in nocturnal cities. But a killer who uses sunlight to burn his victims emerges, and when he targets the daughter of a solar power mogul, it falls to a disillusioned solar engineer to protect her. Collects ECLIPSE #1-4.

I've read dystopians filled with aliens, floods, zombies, nuclear war, asteroids....you get the idea,but I don't think I have read one after a solar event.  

I'm sure someone is going to shout at me and say "what about this one?" and to you I say "thanks I'll add to my wish list", anyway I digress, I really enjoyed the latest addition to my graphic novel shelf, Eclipse!

It kinda reminded of WOOL by Hugh Howey, I think it was the suits that they wear going outside during the day and the whole being underground thing but of course the only thing these book have in common is the whole end of the world thing.

Set in NYC, it takes place 10 years after a solar event has burnt most of the world to a crisp, those left behind take shelter underground during the day only venturing out at night, those who find themselves out during the day well the wont survive long without an ice suit.

The premise is an old school murder mystery, a series of badly burned bodies are found, somebody is managing to get outside during the day without getting burnt to get rid of these people and that somebody has a list and on it is the daughter of one of NYC most influential men.

We follow Bax as he tries to get to the bottom of these murders but don't for a minute think this is going to be a straightforward case.

Eclipse not only has a great setting and story line, the art looks good too and really helps emphasise the city of NYC as a place you don't want to end up in during the day!

All in all this shows great promise and hopefully the next volume will be a strong as this one.









Don't miss a post!! Enter your email address for my posts straight to your inbox!:

Share:
© Random Redheaded Ramblings | All rights reserved.
Blogger Template Designed by pipdig